The Legislative Branch of Student Government Association is vested in the General Assembly which consists of 27 College Representatives, 36 At-Large-Representatives, and two officers. Through legislation the General Assembly works to improve the student experience at Virginia Tech.

Two (2) College of Agriculture and Life Science Representatives, two (2) College of Architecture and Urban Studies Representatives, four (4) undergraduate College of Buisness Representatives, eight (8) College of Engineering Representatives, three (3) College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences Representatives, four (4) College of Science Representatives, and two (2) University Studies Representatives. Additionally, there are 36  At-Large General Assembly members. All members are elected by the standing General Assembly.

Every week we have General Assembly meetings on Tuesdays at 7:00 pm in the Brush Mountain room in Squires Student Center. The meetings are open to all students and staff of the university, and the general public.

Public Forum occurs at the beginning of each meeting and is open to anyone who would like to speak to the Student Government Association of Virginia Tech regarding an issue.

Chair of the General Assembly:

The Chair of the General Assembly (GA) is elected from within the General Assembly and presides over general meetings, heads the Legislative Branch, assigns members to committees. They are also in charge of setting meeting agendas and times.

Kase Poling

Email: kasep3@vt.edu

Office Hours: 11:00 – 1:00 on Wednesdays in the SGA office located in Squires Student Center.

Vice-Chair of the General Assembly:

The Vice-Chair of the General Assembly is elected from within the General Assembly. They preside over general meetings and assist the Chair when needed. The Vice-Chair shall also assume the position of the Chair in the event that the position is vacated, in addition to other powers and responsibilities outlined in the Bylaws.

Connor O’Brien

Email: ceo77@vt.edu

Office Hours: 8:30 – 9:30 on Tuesdays in the SGA office located in Squires Student Center.